Molina, Wainwright finalists to be repeat Gold Glove winners

Molina, Wainwright finalists to be repeat Gold Glove winners

Catcher Yadier Molina and pitcher Adam Wainwright, both Gold Glove winners in the National League last season, have again been named finalists for the annual defensive award. Rawlings announced the three league finalists at each position on Thursday, and among Cardinals players, only Molina and Wainwright made the cut.

The winners will be revealed on ESPN2 at 6 p.m. CT on Nov. 4. At that time, voting for the Platinum Glove -- given to the best overall defender in each league -- will commence. The Platinum Glove winners will be unveiled at the Gold Glove Awards dinner on Nov. 7.

The award finalists are determined through a process that includes voting by managers and coaches, as well as a sabermetric-based component. The managers/coaches ballots account for approximately 75 percent of the vote.

Molina has won six consecutive Gold Glove Awards, the fourth-largest haul all time by a catcher. Only Ivan Rodriquez (13), Johnny Bench (10) and Bob Boone (7) won more. Adding another to his collection this year would move Molina out of a tie with Jim Sundberg.

Molina is also in line to become just the fourth player in franchise history at any position to win seven straight Gold Gloves. The others are Ozzie Smith (1982-92), Bob Gibson (1965-73) and Curt Flood (1963-69).

Molina qualified for this year's honor despite missing seven weeks with a thumb injury. Pittsburgh's Russell Martin and Milwaukee's Jonathan Lucroy are the other two finalists at the position. Lucroy started an NL-most 133 games at catcher, while Martin and Molina each logged 106 starts.

Of all catchers to start more than 50 games behind the plate, Molina had the highest caught-stealing percentage at 48. Lucroy and Martin, however, both topped him in defensive runs saved.

Wainwright, a Gold Glove winner in 2009 and 2013, has a chance to join Gibson and Bobby Shantz as the only Cardinals pitchers to win at least three times. Wainwright is a finalist along with Dodgers starters Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke.

Kershaw led the NL with seven defensive runs saved; Wainwright and Greinke each totaled five.

Jenifer Langosch is a reporter for Read her blog, By Gosh, It's Langosch, and follow her on Twitter @LangoschMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.