Out call confirmed after MadBum-Wong collision at first

Quick review shows pitcher got tag on runner before bumping him out of baseline

Out call confirmed after MadBum-Wong collision at first

ST. LOUIS -- The first instance of replay review in National League Championship Series history was more hockey than baseball, and was settled before you could say "hip check."

In the seventh inning of what would become a 3-0 Giants win over the Cardinals at Busch Stadium, Giants pitcher Madison Bumgarner and Cardinals second baseman Kolten Wong each converged on first base -- Bumgarner racing over to receive an underhanded toss from Giants first baseman Brandon Belt, and Wong trying to become the third Cardinals baserunner of the inning.

  Date Recaps Highlights
Gm 1 Oct. 11 SF 3, STL 0 video
Gm 2 Oct. 12 STL 5, SF 4 video
Gm 3 Oct. 14 SF 5, STL 4 video
Gm 4 Oct. 15 SF 6, STL 4 video
Gm 5 Oct. 16 SF 6, STL 3 video
The baseball and Bumgarner arrived first, and in applying a tag, Bumgarner bumped Wong out of the baseline. Cardinals manager Mike Matheny challenged the out call.

"Just didn't look right," Matheny said. "It looked as if there may have been some contact made before he had the ball. And if that was the case, needed to have that checked out. You could tell the tag was made, but the base was definitely blocked. It was just whether or not he had the ball before he did block it."

After a 52-second review while officials at Major League Baseball's Replay Command Center in New York rendered a ruling, the original call was confirmed.

"The video shows I couldn't get to first base because he cut me off," Wong said. "I saw him coming and then I felt his shoulder go into my shoulder. I was standing there wondering if it was legal or not. But they [the umpires] probably made the right call."

"I wasn't sure what they were talking about reviewing the play," Bumgarner said. "I just knew I had a better shot at tagging [Wong] than beating him to the base. I don't know what they were reviewing, but glad it worked out in our favor."

Bumgarner stranded the two previous St. Louis runners and went on to work 7 2/3 scoreless innings for a Game 1 win.

It was the eighth instance of replay review so far in this postseason, and the first in the LCS round in either league.

Previous replay reviews this postseason

Tigers-Orioles, Game 2 ALDS: Markakis' homer confirmed

Video: Markakis' homer confirmed

Markakis' reviewed home run

With one out and one on in the third inning of a scoreless game, Nick Markakis launched a fly ball to right field that bounced off the grounds' crew shed roof in right field and came back onto the field of play. Right-field umpire Paul Schreiber signaled it was a home run, but Tigers manager Brad Ausmus requested the play be reviewed. The call on the field was confirmed, correctly according to the Camden Yards ground rules, which state: Fly ball hitting the grounds crew shed roof in right field and bouncing back into play: HOME RUN.

Giants-Nationals, Game 1 NLDS: Ishikawa safe at second after reversal

Challenge overturns out in 3rd

Video: Call at second overturned

With no outs and Travis Ishikawa on second, Jake Peavy laid down a sacrifice bunt. Instead of taking the out at first, Nationals first baseman Adam LaRoche threw to second in hopes of gunning down Ishikawa, and umpire Tom Hallion called him out. Bochy challenged the call, and it was overturned after a review of just one minute and one second. Ishikawa would later score in a game the Giants would win 3-2.

Cardinals-Dodgers, NLDS Game 2: Overturned call aids Dodgers win

Ellis scores first run

Video: L.A. gets overturn

A play on a Dee Gordon grounder to second base that Dodgers manager Don Mattingly challenged in the third inning turned out to be a pivotal play in his club's 3-2 victory. Zack Greinke was on first base when Gordon hit a bouncer to Cards second baseman Kolten Wong, who put the tag on Greinke to get an out call from umpire Eric Cooper. Replays, however, showed Wong had tagged Greinke with his glove while the ball was in his throwing hand, and Greinke was awarded second base after the review. He later scored on an Adrian Gonzalez single.

Orioles-Tigers, ALDS Game 3: Schoop's run-saving scoop confirmed

Romine out after review

Video: Schoop's play confirmed

With Tigers catcher Alex Avila at third base and two outs in the second inning, shortstop Andrew Romine bunted toward Orioles second baseman Jonathan Schoop. The ball was deftly scooped up by Schoop, who flipped the ball to first baseman Steve Pearce in one motion, and umpire Jim Wolf called Romine out. With a run at stake, Detroit manager Brad Ausmus challenged the call. After a two-minute, 28-second review, the call on the field stood. The Tigers would lose, 2-1, and were eliminated from the ALDS.

Giants-Nationals, NLDS Game 2: Call stands; Posey out at home

Must C: Giants tie, Posey out

Video: Posey out at home

With the Nationals leading, 1-0, with two outs in the bottom of the ninth, Pablo Sandoval sliced a ball to the left-field corner with two runners on. Joe Panik easily scored from second, but Buster Posey was called out by home-plate umpire Vic Carapazza after the relay throw beat him by a split second. San Francisco manager Bruce Bochy immediately challenged the call, but it was upheld due to a lack of conclusive evidence.

Dodgers-Cardinals, NLDS Game 4: Molina's laser throw gets Ethier on overturn

Safe call overturned at third

Video: Molina throws out Ethier

The Dodgers' A.J. Ellis was at the plate with runners on first and third and two out in the sixth inning when Cardinals reliever Seth Maness bounced a pitch just behind All-Star catcher Yadier Molina. Andre Ethier darted off third toward the plate and stopped short as Molina came up with one of his patented laser throws that seemed to beat the Dodgers center fielder as he retreated back to the bag. Third-base umpire Jerry Meals called Ethier safe as third baseman Matt Carpenter applied the tag. St. Louis manager Mike Matheny challenged, and after a 92-second review, the call was overturned, ending Los Angeles' rally.

Nationals-Giants, NLDS Game 4: Wild seventh seals fate for both Nats, Giants

Out call on Posey confirmed

Video: Call on Posey confirmed

In the act of intentionally walking Pablo Sandoval in the seventh inning of Tuesday's Game 4 of the National League Division Series, which the Giants took from the Nationals, 3-2, Nats reliever Aaron Barrett sailed ball four all the way to the backstop. The result was one of the more bizarre postseason plays in any context. Watching Barrett's mistake from third base, Giants catcher Buster Posey raced home. His counterpart, Wilson Ramos, hustled after the ball, grabbing it after it ricocheted off the wall behind home plate. Then Ramos flipped to Barrett, who tagged Posey while blocking most of the plate with his body. Crew chief Mike Winters called for a review, but the call was confirmed after video replay.

Adam McCalvy is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Brew Beat, and follow him on Twitter at @AdamMcCalvy. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.