Matusz replaces Jimenez on Orioles' ALCS roster

Matusz replaces Jimenez on Orioles' ALCS roster

BALTIMORE -- The Orioles added left-handed pitcher Brian Matusz to their American League Championship Series roster, removing right-hander Ubaldo Jimenez to clear a spot. The rest of Baltimore's roster, which again includes 11 pitchers, is unchanged from its Division Series against Detroit.

The ALCS is scheduled to begin tonight at Camden Yards (8 ET, TBS).

Matusz, part of the Orioles' Opening Day roster, was left off the roster in the previous series given how well Detroit hit against lefties this season. Since the Royals' splits are even, it was expected that the O's would add a lefty back to the bullpen. T.J. McFarland is not on the roster for the second consecutive series. Jimenez was inconsistent all season. First baseman/third baseman Chris Davis was also left off, as revealed on Thursday. Five games remain on his 25-game suspension for violating of Major League Baseball's Joint Drug Agreement.

  Date   Recaps Highlights
Gm 1 Oct. 10   KC 8, BAL 6 (10 inn.) video
Gm 2 Oct. 11   KC 6, BAL 4 video
Gm 3 Oct. 14   KC 2, BAL 1 video
Gm 4 Oct. 15   KC 2, BAL 1 video

The starting pitchers will be the same four as in the Division Series: Chris Tillman, Wei-Yin Chen, Bud Norris and Miguel Gonzalez. Though the order is still to be announced. Tillman, 2-2 with a 6.21 ERA in five career starts against the Royals, will again be the Game 1 starter. He tossed his first career shutout in Kansas City, a five-hitter, in May. Starter Kevin Gausman will once again be available out of the bullpen, either for late-inning or multiple-inning work.

Catchers Nick Hundley and Caleb Joseph are back, as are infielder Kelly Johnson and Jimmy Paredes. The O's considered speedy outfielder Quintin Berry, who along with Davis and reliever Ryan Webb are players who will remain with the team although they are not on the active roster.

Brad Brach
Zach Britton
Wei-Yin Chen
Kevin Gausman
Miguel Gonzalez
Tommy Hunter
Brian Matusz
Andrew Miller
Bud Norris
Darren O'Day
Chris Tillman

Nick Hundley
Caleb Joseph

Ryan Flaherty
J.J. Hardy
Kelly Johnson
Jimmy Paredes
Steve Pearce
Jonathan Schoop

Nelson Cruz
Alejandro De Aza
Adam Jones
David Lough
Nick Markakis
Delmon Young

Brittany Ghiroli is a reporter for Read her blog, Britt's Bird Watch, and follow her on Facebook and Twitter @britt_ghiroli. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.