Fans can vote for Aaron Award nominee Cano

Fans can vote for Aaron Award nominee Cano

SEATTLE -- Six-time All-Star second baseman Robinson Cano has been selected as the Mariners nominee for the 2014 Hank Aaron Award and fans are able to vote through Sunday on for the 16th annual honor.

In his first season with the Mariners after signing a 10-year, $240 million free agent contract, Cano finished sixth in the American League in hits (187), batting average (.314) and on-base percentage (.382). The 31-year-old Dominican native also led the Mariners with an .836 OPS and tied Kyle Seager for the team's best slugging percentage at .454 while hitting 14 home runs, collecting 82 RBIs and recording a career-best 10 stolen bases.

"Robinson had a tremendous year for us," said Mariners manager Lloyd McClendon. "He was in the middle of our lineup every day and helped make the players around him better."

Cano's 37 doubles ranked seventh in the AL. He's had 10 straight seasons with 30 or more doubles and is the only player in MLB with 35 or more doubles each of the past nine years. That's the third-longest streak in Major League history behind 10 seasons each for Bobby Abreu (1999-2008) and Todd Helton (1998-2007) and tied with Tris Speaker (1919-27).

The award is designated for the best overall offensive performer in each league, with Miguel Cabrera of the Tigers and Paul Goldschmidt of the D-backs winning last year's awards.

Other AL nominees include Nelson Cruz of Baltimore, David Ortiz of Boston, Jose Abreu of the Chicago White Sox, Michael Brantley of Cleveland, Victor Martinez of Detroit, Jose Altuve of Houston, Alex Gordon of Kansas City, Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels, Trevor Plouffe of Minnesota, Brett Gardner of the New York Yankees, Josh Donaldson of Oakland, Evan Longoria of Tampa Bay, Adrian Beltre of Texas and Jose Bautista of Toronto.

The NL candidates are Goldschmidt, Justin Upton of Atlanta, Anthony Rizzo of the Chicago Cubs, Devin Mesoraco of Cincinnati, Justin Morneau of Colorado, Adrian Gonzalez of the Los Angeles Dodgers, Giancarlo Stanton of Miami, Jonathan Lucroy of Milwaukee, Daniel Murphy of the New York Mets, Marlon Byrd of Philadelphia, Andrew McCutchen of Pittsburgh, Matt Carpenter of St. Louis, Seth Smith of San Diego, Hunter Pence of San Francisco and Anthony Rendon of Washington.

For the fifth consecutive year, a panel of Hall of Fame players led by Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by MLB and has recognized the top offensive threat in each league since it was established in 1999.

The panel includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time -- Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray, Frank Thomas and Robin Yount.

Fans also have a vote and can cast their ballots on through Oct. 5.

Greg Johns is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @GregJohnsMLB as well as his Mariners Musings blog. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.