Paul Goldschmidt named D-backs nominee for 2014 Hank Aaron Award

Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that Paul Goldschmidt was named the D-backs' nominee for the 2014 Hank Aaron Award.

Fans can vote exclusively online at and the 30 Club sites. For the fifth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

Goldschmidt, who won the 2013 NL Hank Aaron Award, hit .300 (122-for-406) with 39 doubles, 19 home runs and 69 RBI in 109 games with Arizona before suffering a fractured right hand on Aug. 1. At the time of his injury, Goldschmidt ranked among NL leaders in doubles (1st), extra-base hits (1st, 59), total bases (2nd, 220), runs scored (T-2nd, 75), on-base percentage (3rd, .396), slugging percentage (3rd, .542), walks (3rd, 64), RBI (3rd), OPS (4th, .938), average (5th), hits (6th) and home runs (T-7th).

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time -Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray, Frank Thomas and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers - who combined for 16,956 hits, 8,844 RBI and 2,109 home runs - have all been personally selected by Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League. 

Through October 5, fans will have the opportunity to select one AL and one NL winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2014 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2014 World Series.

The finalists for the 2014 Hank Aaron Award are:


American League

Baltimore Orioles

Nelson Cruz

Boston Red Sox

David Ortiz

Chicago White Sox

Jose Abreu

Cleveland Indians

Michael Brantley

Detroit Tigers

Victor Martinez

Houston Astros

Jose Altuve

Kansas City Royals

Alex Gordon

LA Angels of Anaheim

Mike Trout

Minnesota Twins

Trevor Plouffe

New York Yankees

Brett Gardner

Oakland Athletics

Josh Donaldson

Seattle Mariners

Robinson Cano

Tampa Bay Rays

Evan Longoria

Texas Rangers

Adrian Beltre

Toronto Blue Jays

Jose Bautista

National League

Arizona Diamondbacks

Paul Goldschmidt

Atlanta Braves

Justin Upton

Chicago Cubs

Anthony Rizzo

Cincinnati Reds

Devin Mesoraco

Colorado Rockies

Justin Morneau

Los Angeles Dodgers

Adrian Gonzalez

Miami Marlins

Giancarlo Stanton

Milwaukee Brewers

Jonathan Lucroy

New York Mets

Daniel Murphy

Philadelphia Phillies

Marlon Byrd

Pittsburgh Pirates

Andrew McCutchen

St. Louis Cardinals

Matt Carpenter

San Diego Padres

Seth Smith

San Francisco Giants

Hunter Pence

Washington Nationals

Anthony Rendon