30 nominees named for 2014 Hank Aaron Award

Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that fans can vote for the 2014 Hank Aaron Award exclusively online at MLB.com and the 30 Club sites. For the fifth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

The finalists for the 2014 Hank Aaron Award are:


American League

Baltimore Orioles

Nelson Cruz

Boston Red Sox

David Ortiz

Chicago White Sox

Jose Abreu

Cleveland Indians

Michael Brantley

Detroit Tigers

Victor Martinez

Houston Astros

Jose Altuve

Kansas City Royals

Alex Gordon

LA Angels of Anaheim

Mike Trout

Minnesota Twins

Trevor Plouffe

New York Yankees

Brett Gardner

Oakland Athletics

Josh Donaldson

Seattle Mariners

Robinson Cano

Tampa Bay Rays

Evan Longoria

Texas Rangers

Adrian Beltre

Toronto Blue Jays

Jose Bautista

National League

Arizona Diamondbacks

Paul Goldschmidt

Atlanta Braves

Justin Upton

Chicago Cubs

Anthony Rizzo

Cincinnati Reds

Devin Mesoraco

Colorado Rockies

Justin Morneau

Los Angeles Dodgers

Adrian Gonzalez

Miami Marlins

Giancarlo Stanton

Milwaukee Brewers

Jonathan Lucroy

New York Mets

Daniel Murphy

Philadelphia Phillies

Marlon Byrd

Pittsburgh Pirates

Andrew McCutchen

St. Louis Cardinals

Matt Carpenter

San Diego Padres

Seth Smith

San Francisco Giants

Hunter Pence

Washington Nationals

Anthony Rendon

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time -Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray, Frank Thomas and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers - who combined for 16,956 hits, 8,844 RBI and 2,109 home runs - have all been personally selected by Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League. 

Continuing through October 5, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2014 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2014 World Series.

"As one of the game's most talented and respected players ever, it is appropriate that Major League Baseball recognizes the top offensive performers in each League with an award named in honor of Hank Aaron," Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig said. "Each of the nominees should be applauded for their outstanding seasons, which will make selecting just one winner in each League a difficult task for Hank, our Hall of Fame panel and our participating fans."

 "I am honored to have my name on the award given by Major League Baseball to the top offensive performers in the game," said Hank Aaron. "Each of the nominees is talented and deserving, which makes me grateful to have the assistance of my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans to help select the winners."

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013); Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012); Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.