Facts, figures relating to Zimmermann's no-hitter

Facts, figures relating to Zimmermann's no-hitter

• The starting pitcher has recorded a hit in three straight no-hitters and in three of the five no-no's this year, including two-hit efforts by Jordan Zimmermann on Sept. 27 against the Marlins and Tim Lincecum against the Padres on June 25.

• All five no-hitters this season came from National League pitchers, breaking the senior circuit's single-season record of four achieved in 1898, 1969 and 2010. The American League single-season record is also five, accomplished in 1917 and 1990.

Henderson Alvarez and Lincecum, who pitched in Homer Bailey's no-hitter on July 2, 2013, have both won and lost no-hitters since the beginning of last season.

Jordan Zimmermann
Rare Jordan: Zimmermann fires no-no
• The National League is responsible for nine straight no-hitters. The last two have come out of the NL East, and the first two, both thrown by the Reds' Bailey, are the only from the Central in the streak.

• Zimmermann's no-hitter is the 24th in the Majors in the past five seasons, setting a new mark for the most no-no's in a five-year stretch, according to STATS.

• Zimmermann's no-hitter is the fifth in franchise history but only the first for the Nationals. The Expos tallied four no-nos. Dennis Martinez no-hit the Dodgers on July 28, 1991; Charlie Lea held the Giants hitless on May 10, 1981; and Bill Stoneman no-hit the Mets on Oct. 2, 1972, and the Phillies on April 17, 1969.

• All seven defensive players behind Zimmermann entered the game as defensive substitutes. According to ELIAS, this is the first time in Major League history a no-hitter has ended with seven defensive players who did not start the game.

• Fifteen players recorded a putout or an assist in Zimmermann's no-hitter, setting a Major League record for a no-no.

• Zimmermann's no-hitter is the 56th thrown in either September or October. Only six times has the team that threw the no-hitter gone on to win the World Series. The last occurrence came when Clay Buchholz threw a no-hitter on Sept. 1, 2007, and the Red Sox went on to defeat the Rockies in the World Series.

• Aside from Bailey's no-hitters on Sept. 28, 2012, and July 2, 2013, the most recent NL Central no-hitter was thrown by former Cubs hurler Carlos Zambrano on Sept. 14, 2008. There have been 26 no-hitters between the American and National Leagues since.

• Zimmermann's no-hitter is the fifth on the season's final day. Alvarez, his opponent on Sunday, tossed the fourth against the Tigers on Sept. 29, 2013. Previously, the Angels' Mike Witt no-hit the Rangers on Sept. 30, 1984; the A's quartet of Vida Blue, Glenn Abbott, Paul Lindblad and Rollie Fingers held the Angels hitless on Sept. 28, 1975; and the Reds' Bumpus Jones threw a no-hitter against the Pirates on Oct. 15, 1892.

• The no-hitter thrown by Witt was a perfect game.

• The Marlins previously shared the Major League lead with the Royals and the D-backs for the fewest no-hitters thrown against them at two. They are now tied with the Rockies, the Astros, the Brewers and the Mariners at three.

• The Nationals won Zimmermann's no-no 1-0 on Sunday, marking the 40th no-hitter in Major League history to end with a 1-0 score. Zimmermann's marked the 21st in the NL compared to 19 in the AL.

Joe Morgan is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.