Madison Bumgarner named 2014 'Willie Mac' Award winner

SAN FRANCISCO, CA - San Francisco Giants left-handed pitcher Madison Bumgarner was selected as the winner of the 2014 "Willie Mac" Award, the club announced today.

The Willie McCovey Award is an annual honor bestowed upon the most inspirational player on the team, as voted upon by Giants players, coaches, training staff and the fans.

The award was established in 1980, in honor of legend and Hall of Famer Willie McCovey. Bumgarner will receive a plaque prior to tonight's game. Engraved on the plaque are the words "Competitive Spirit, Ability and Leadership" to characterize the qualities both McCovey and Bumgarner exemplify.

Bumgarner has posted an 18-10 record with a 2.98 ERA (72er, 217.1ip) and 219 strikeouts in 33 starts this season. The 2014 All-Star posted career highs in wins, innings pitched and strikeouts, while fashioning the second-lowest ERA of his career for a full season. In addition, his 219 strikeouts set a record for a San Francisco left-handed pitcher.

Bumgarner also contributed with his bat this season, as he led all pitchers in batting average (.262), runs scored (10), hits (17), home runs (4), RBI (15) and slugging pct. (.477). His four home runs were the most by a Giants pitcher since Hal Schumacher hit six in 1937, and his 15 RBI matched Juan Marichal's 1966 San Francisco season record. Two of his four home runs were grand slams, becoming just the second pitcher in Major League history to hit two in one season.

Listed below are the "Willie Mac Award" winners:

1980 Jack Clark
1981 Larry Herndon
1982 Joe Morgan
1983 Darrell Evans
1984 Bob Brenly
1985 Mike Krukow
1986 Mike Krukow  
1987 Chris Speier
1988 Jose Uribe
1989 Dave Dravecky
1990 Steve Bedrosian
1991 Robby Thompson
1992 Mike Felder
1993 Kirt Manwaring
1994 None
1995 Mark Leiter, Mark Carreon
1996 Shawon Dunston
1997 J.T. Snow
1998 Jeff Kent
1999 Marvin Benard
2000 Ellis Burks
2001 Mark Gardner, Benito Santiago
2002 David Bell
2003 Marquis Grissom
2004 J.T. Snow
2005 Mike Matheny
2006 Omar Vizquel
2007 Bengie Molina
2008 Bengie Molina
2009 Matt Cain
2010 Andres Torres
2011 Ryan Vogelsong
2012 Buster Posey
2013 Hunter Pence
2014 Madison Bumgarner