Tigers' challenge results in inning-ending double play

Tigers' challenge results in inning-ending double play

DETROIT -- The Tigers got an inning-ending double play on a flyout when replay showed that right fielder Torii Hunter's throw beat the Twins' Oswaldo Arcia to first base in Friday night's game.

Arcia had reached on a one-out single in the eighth inning and was nearly to second base on Kurt Suzuki's shallow fly ball down the right-field line. Hunter ran it down, then quickly fired the ball to first base.

First-base umpire Joe West initially ruled that Arcia slid in ahead of the throw. Detroit manager Brad Ausmus still had his challenge and used it. After a one-minute, 10-second review, the call was overturned.

Ausmus improved to 23-for-39 in challenges.

Jason Beck is a reporter for MLB.com. Read Beck's Blog and follow him on Twitter @beckjason. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.