Gordon's diving catch stands after Tribe challenge

Gordon's diving catch stands after Tribe challenge

CLEVELAND -- With the Indians' season hanging by a thread, manager Terry Francona did not hesitate to challenge a seventh-inning catch by Royals left fielder Alex Gordon in Wednesday night's 6-4 victory at Progressive Field. The play was ruled as stands, but Francona did not want to take any chances.

Cleveland held a 6-4 lead when shortstop Jose Ramirez lofted a pitch from Kansas City reliever Kelvin Herrera to left field to open the seventh. Gordon sprinted in and made a diving catch for an out, but the ball appeared to bounce up into the outfielder's glove as he tumbled to the grass.

While it looked like a trap on the part of Gordon, the replays did not clearly show whether the baseball first hit the ground or the edge of the left fielder's glove. The umpires at Progressive Field consulted with the replay crew in New York, who ruled the call stands.

The home crowd, which saw a slow-motion replay on the stadium scoreboard, unleashed a chorus of boos after Kansas City was rewarded with an out. As a result, Francona slipped to 18-for-33 this season on having calls overturned on a managerial challenge.

Jordan Bastian is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Major League Bastian, and follow him on Twitter @MLBastian. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.