Blue Jays name MVPs in Minor League system

Pillar claims top prize for Triple-A club; Berti wins Double-A award

Blue Jays name MVPs in Minor League system

TORONTO -- The Blue Jays handed out their annual R. Howard Webster Awards on Wednesday afternoon to honor the most valuable players at each level of the club's Minor League system.

Current Toronto outfielder Kevin Pillar picked up the top award for Triple-A Buffalo after his impressive year for the Bisons. He was joined by infielder Jon Berti (Double-A New Hampshire), outfielder Dwight Smith Jr. (Class A Advanced Dunedin) and third baseman Mitch Nay (Class A Lansing).

Other winners included shortstop Franklin Barreto (short-season Vancouver), shortstop Richard Urena (Rookie Advanced Bluefield), C/1B Juan Kelly (Gulf Coast League Blue Jays) and first baseman Enmanuel Moreta (Dominican Summer League).

Pillar, who was promoted to the big leagues at the beginning of September, was an International League postseason All-Star and the Bisons' Stan Barron MVP. He appeared in 100 games this season and ranked in the top five of most of the league's major offensive categories. He led the IL in doubles (39), was third in batting average (.323), fourth in extra-base hits (52) and fifth in slugging percentage (.509).

Berti is set to participate in the upcoming Arizona Fall League. This is his second consecutive Webster Award after he was named the MVP for Class A Dunedin in 2013. He finished second in the Eastern League with 146 hits and 40 stolen bases while batting .270.

Smith led Dunedin in batting average (.284), on-base percentage (.363), home runs (12), RBIs (60), stolen bases (15) and doubles (28). Nay led the Lugnuts with a .285 batting average, 34 doubles, 59 RBIs and 135 hits, which ranked second in Toronto's organization.

Gregor Chisholm is a reporter for Read his blog, North of the Border, and follow him on Twitter @gregorMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.