Indians replay challenge leads to inning-ending double play

Indians replay challenge leads to inning-ending double play

MINNEAPOLIS -- Indians manager Terry Francona successfully challenged a call on Saturday night, leading to an inning-ending double play.

Working with a 7-2 lead in the seventh inning, Cleveland right-hander Zach McAllister struck out Danny Santana for the frame's second out. On the play, Jordan Schafer sprinted for a stolen base and Tribe catcher Roberto Perez fired a strike to shortstop Jose Ramirez at second base.

Schafer was initially ruled safe by second-base umpire Jim Reynolds, but instant replays showed Ramirez applying the tag just before the runner's hand touched the base. Francona immediately emerged from the dugout and challenged the ruling on the field, leading to a conference with the Replay Operations Center in New York.

Following a review lasting one minute and 13 seconds, the ruling was overturned, Schafer was called out and Cleveland was out of the inning and on its way to a much-needed win. With the overturned call, Francona improved to 18-for-32 (56 percent) on managerial challenges this season.

Jordan Bastian is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Major League Bastian, and follow him on Twitter @MLBastian. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.