Padres Extend Player Development Contract with Single-A Lake Elsinore

The San Diego Padres today announced they have extended their player development contract with Single-A Lake Elsinore of the California League for two years through the 2016 season. Executive Vice President/General Manager A.J. Preller made the announcement.

"Having our Single-A affiliate so close to San Diego has proven to be a huge asset to both our player development staff and also to our fans, who have the opportunity to visit The Diamond and see our future Major Leaguers in action," said Preller. "Gary Jacobs and Dave Oster run one of the finest organizations in minor league baseball. We are excited to continue our relationship with the Storm."

A Padres affiliate since 2001, the Storm have posted a 1,026-931 (.524) regular season record over that span. The 14-year partnership has been highlighted by a pair of California League Championships in 2001 and 2011, as well as four division titles, those coming in 2001, 2005, 2007 and 2011. In addition, Lake Elsinore has reached the postseason nine times in the past 10 seasons, including a second half wild card berth in 2014.

The 2014 season was the first year at the helm for current Manager Jamie Quirk, who had spent the previous two seasons in the Majors as the Chicago Cubs bench coach. This season, the Storm recently finished the regular season with an overall 75-65 (.536) record, posting a 40-30 record during the first half of the season and a 35-35 record during the second half.

"Having made the postseason in nine out of the last 10 seasons is a testament not only to the work of our scouting and player development staff, but also to the first-class organization run by the Storm," said Padres Vice President, Player Development Randy Smith. "We are proud to have had a successful 14-year relationship thus far with Lake Elsinore and are thrilled to continue our affiliation for at least another two seasons."

Of the players currently on the Padres active roster, nine went through Lake Elsinore during their minor league careers, including Jedd Gyorko, Tommy Medica, Rymer Liriano, Cory Spangenberg, Tim Stauffer, Nick Vincent, Dale Thayer, Kevin Quackenbush and Frank Garces.