Changes aplenty with big league clubs, Minors affiliates

Changes aplenty with big league clubs, Minors affiliates

Every two years after the Minor League season ends, a brief, frenzied window opens for clubs looking to change affiliations. This year, Major League clubs were allowed to begin negotiating new player development contracts with unaffiliated Minor League teams on Tuesday and, already, several affiliations have changed hands.

The most active Major League teams in the first few days were the Cubs, Rockies and Dodgers. Chicago and Colorado announced three new Minor League affiliates, while L.A. was a part of the large game of musical chairs being played in the Triple-A Pacific Coast League, where five affiliations changed in the first two days.

For the Dodgers, that meant leaving Albuquerque for Oklahoma City, which was recently purchased by an ownership group that includes the Dodgers. L.A. also moved its Double-A team from Chattanooga to Tulsa, concentrating its upper-level Minor Leaguers in the Sooner State.

The Cubs said goodbye to a longtime affiliate, moving their Class A Advanced team from Daytona, where it had been based for 22 years, to Myrtle Beach. In the Midwest League, the Cubs moved their Class A team from Kane County, about an hour and a half west of Wrigley Field, to South Bend, about two and a half hours east of the friendly confines. The Cubs also announced on Friday that they would move the club's Class A Short-Season Northwest League affiliate from Boise to Eugene, reuniting the two organizations, as Eugene was previously a Cubs affiliate in the 1999-2000 seasons.

With a finite number of Minor League teams, one affiliation change leads to another. When the Cubs decided to leave Daytona, the Reds were happy to move their Class A Advanced team across the country from Bakersfield to Daytona. And with the Giants moving their Triple-A team from Fresno to Sacramento, the A's moved on to Nashville, where the Sounds will open a new downtown ballpark next season.

The player development contracts being negotiated between Major League clubs and the Minor League affiliates typically last two or four years. Teams had until Sept. 11 to renew contracts set to expire this year.

Several affiliations remain open, ranging from Double-A all the way to short-season. This list will be updated with the latest moves as they are announced.

Affiliation changes:

Arizona Diamondbacks
Class A: Changed from South Bend to Kane County

Atlanta Braves
Class A Advanced: Changed from Lynchburg to Carolina

Chicago Cubs
Class A Advanced: Changed from Daytona to Myrtle Beach
Class A: Changed from Kane County to South Bend
Class A Short-Season: Changed from Boise to Eugene

Cincinnati Reds
Class A Advanced: Changed from Bakersfield to Daytona

Cleveland Indians
Class A Advanced: Changed from Carolina to Lynchburg

Colorado Rockies
Triple-A: Changed from Colorado Springs to Albuquerque
Double-A: Changed from Tulsa to New Britain
Class A Short-Season: Changed from Tri-City to Boise

Houston Astros
Triple-A: Changed from Oklahoma City to Fresno

Los Angeles Dodgers
Triple-A: Changed from Albuquerque to Oklahoma City
Double-A: Changed from Chattanooga to Tulsa

Milwaukee Brewers:
Triple-A: Changed from Nashville to Colorado Springs

Minnesota Twins
Double-A: Changed from New Britain to Chattanooga

New York Yankees
Rookie-level: Added Pulaski in the Appalachian League

Oakland A's
Triple-A: Changed from Sacramento to Nashville

San Diego Padres
Class A Short-Season: Changed from Eugene to Tri-City

San Francisco Giants
Triple-A: Changed from Fresno to Sacramento

Seattle Mariners
Class A Advanced: Changed from High Desert to Bakersfield
Rookie-level: Changed from Pulaski to TBD

Texas Rangers
Class A Advanced: Changed from Frisco to High Desert



Teddy Cahill is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @tedcahill. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.