Fredi's challenge gets call overturned at second

Fredi's challenge gets call overturned at second

ATLANTA -- Though his club's postseason hopes were further weakened during Tuesday night's 3-0 loss to the Nationals, Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez proved successful in his attempt to prevent a run from scoring during the eighth inning.

After second-base umpire Ed Hickox ruled that Anthony Rendon had successfully stolen second base with no outs and the Nationals leading, 2-0, Gonzalez came out of the dugout and challenged that second baseman Phil Gosselin had received Christian Bethancourt's strong throw and applied the tag before Rendon reached the base.

Umpires reviewed the initial ruling and the call was overturned.

Mark Bowman is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.