Replay confirms out call on Crisp's steal attempt

Replay confirms out call on Crisp's steal attempt

CHICAGO -- Oakland manager Bob Melvin unsuccessfully challenged an eighth-inning call Wednesday night at U.S. Cellular Field. 

With one out and a 1-0 lead, Coco Crisp took off for second when a pitch bounced away from catcher Josh Phegley, but Crisp was tagged out by second baseman Carlos Sanchez.

Melvin challenged the call by second base umpire Dan Iassogna, which was confirmed after a review of one minute and 18 seconds.

Daniel Kramer is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.