But LeMahieu stopped between first and second base and retreated to first base as the return throw to first base appeared to arrive late with Goebbert applying the tag. First-base umpire Dan Iassogna ruled LeMahieu safe.
San Diego's Bud Black used his manager's challenge, and the call was overturned after a replay review, with the play being scored a double play, 3-6-3.
Corey Brock is a reporter for MLB.com. Keep track of @FollowThePadres on Twitter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.