White Sox get call overturned in fourth inning

Replay shows Kipnis out at first on grounder to shortstop

White Sox get call overturned in fourth inning

CLEVELAND -- A ground ball by Jason Kipnis during the fourth inning of Sunday's game between the White Sox and Indians at Progressive Field was challenged by White Sox manager Robin Ventura after Kipnis was ruled safe at first.

With one out, nobody on base and the Indians leading, 1-0, Kipnis hit a grounder to the right of shortstop Alexei Ramirez, who fielded the grounder and appeared to get Kipnis by a half-step on his throw to first. After Ventura's challenge, the call was overturned. The video replay took just 48 seconds, and the Indians did not score in the inning.

Scott Merkin is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Merk's Works, and follow him on Twitter @scottmerkin. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.