Gibby wins challenge but nothing changes

Gibby wins challenge but nothing changes

LOS ANGELES -- Arizona manager Kirk Gibson won a challenge in the eighth inning of Saturday's 5-2 loss to the Dodgers, but though the ruling on the field was overturned, it didn't prevent a Dodgers run from scoring.

With two outs and the D-backs trailing, 3-2, Hanley Ramirez doubled to left, driving in two Dodgers runs. Gibson argued that a fan interfered with the ball in left field.

A replay review showed that Gibson was correct. However, the umpires ruled that both runners should still score on the play and that Ramirez should remain on second with a ground-rule double.

Michael Lananna is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.