Scioscia's challenge gives Angels a double play

Scioscia's challenge gives Angels a double play

MINNEAPOLIS -- Angels manager Mike Scioscia went to replay to get a call overturned in the second inning on Friday, completing a strikeout-caught-stealing double play.

Twins catcher Josmil Pinto took off for second on a Matt Shoemaker pitch that struck out Chris Herrmann, and catcher Chris Iannetta delivered a perfect throw to second. Shortstop Erick Aybar was late covering the bag but caught the throw on the run and nipped Pinto's hand with his glove just before his feet touched the bag.

Second-base umpire John Tumpane originally ruled Pinto safe, but Aybar pointed to the dugout and Scioscia challenged the call, ultimately improving to 17-for-30 in having calls overturned.

Alden Gonzalez is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Gonzo and "The Show", and follow him on Twitter @Alden_Gonzalez. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.