Umpires' review confirms no violation of collision rule

Rivera tags out Carpenter at home plate on infield grounder in fifth inning

Umpires' review confirms no violation of collision rule

SAN DIEGO -- At manager Mike Matheny's urging, crew chief Brian Gorman reviewed a fifth-inning play at the plate on Tuesday night before confirming that there was no violation for Rule 7.13, which requires a catcher to provide a lane to home plate if he does not have possession of the ball.

In this case, Padres catcher Rene Rivera did not have to leave that lane, as he took the throw from third baseman Yangervis Solarte before Matt Carpenter reached home. Carpenter, trying to score the go-ahead run in a 1-1 game on Matt Holliday's one-hopper to third, was tagged out by Rivera.

After a one-minute, 15-second review, the out call was confirmed, making Carpenter the second out of the frame. The Cardinals did not score again that inning against Padres starter Tyson Ross. Because it was a crew-chief review, Matheny retained his challenge for use later in the game.

Jenifer Langosch is a reporter for Read her blog, By Gosh, It's Langosch, and follow her on Twitter @LangoschMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.