Now Commenting On:

Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremony airs on MLB Network on Sunday, July 27


As a record-tying six living inductees will be honored this weekend in Cooperstown, New York, MLB Network will exclusively televise the ceremony as Bobby Cox, Tom Glavine, Tony La Russa, Greg Maddux, Frank Thomas and Joe Torre are inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame on Sunday, July 27. Live on-site coverage anchored by MLB Network's Greg Amsinger, Hall of Fame award-winning writer Peter Gammons, Harold Reynolds and John Smoltz will begin with MLB Tonight on Sunday at 12:00 p.m. ET, including exclusive interviews by Bob Costas with all six electees, followed by the induction ceremony at 1:30 p.m. ET.

MLB Network's exclusive live telecast of the Induction Ceremony will include the acceptance speeches by Glavine, Maddux and Thomas, the three electees from the Baseball Writers' Association of America vote in January, as well as World Series-winning managers Cox, La Russa and Torre, who were elected via the Expansion Era Committee ballot in December. The induction ceremony will also feature the introductions of an expected 56 returning Hall of Famers, including Hank Aaron, Whitey Ford and Cal Ripken Jr.  

Leading into its live coverage on Sunday, MLB Network will air the 2014 Hall of Fame Awards Presentation at 11:00 a.m. ET. The presentation, which will be held on Saturday, July 26 in Cooperstown and hosted by Greg Amsinger, will honor author Roger Angell with the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for his contributions to baseball writing; Texas Rangers announcer Eric Nadel with the Ford C. Frick Award for baseball broadcasting. Joe Garagiola, the winner of the Buck O'Neil Lifetime Achievement Award, will be unable to attend but will accept his award in absentia.

MLB Network's live coverage of the Induction Ceremony will be simulcast on MLB.com and BaseballHall.org. MLB Network will make footage of the ceremony available live via satellite and additional details on the satellite feed will be sent to media from MLB Network.

The Hall of Fame's 2014 election results were announced on January 8 live from MLB Network's studios for the sixth consecutive year and aired exclusively on MLB Network and MLB.com.

About MLB Network:

MLB Network is the ultimate television destination for baseball fans, featuring the multiple Emmy Award-winning MLB Tonight, live regular season and Postseason game telecasts, original programming, highlights, and insights and analysis from the best in the business, including Bob Costas, Peter Gammons, Jim Kaat, Al Leiter and Harold Reynolds. MLB Network debuted on January 1, 2009 in a record-setting 50 million homes and is currently distributed in approximately 70 million homes throughout the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico. For more information and to find MLB Network in your area, go to www.MLBNetwork.com.


Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español