Cederstrom named crew chief for All-Star Game

Cederstrom named crew chief for All-Star Game

An experienced umpire rotation was assigned to the 85th All-Star Game next Tuesday.

Behind the plate will be Gary Cederstrom, a crew chief with 21 years of Major League experience. This year's Midsummer Classic on Tuesday, July 15, at Target Field will be Cederstrom's second in his career. He made his All-Star umpiring debut in the 2003 Game at Chicago's U.S. Cellular Field.

Cederstrom has worked two World Series, six League Championship Series, six Division Series and the inaugural National League Wild Card Game in 2012.

Jeff Nelson (first base), Bob Davidson (second base), Scott Barry (third base), Todd Tichenor (left field) and Vic Carapazza (right field) will join Cederstrom's crew. Davidson is the most experienced All-Star Game umpire; he manned All-Star crews in 1987 and '93 and has been an umpire in the big leagues for 25 years. Nelson, a Major League umpire for 16 years, made his All-Star debut alongside Cederstrom in 2003, the only other Midsummer Classic he has staffed. Meanwhile, Barry (five years of service), Carapazza (three years of service) and Tichenor (four years of service) will make their Midsummer Classic debuts.

Crew chief Jerry Layne, a Major League umpire for 26 years, was chosen as the Replay Official based in the Replay Operations Center at MLB Advanced Media during the All-Star Game.

Four Minor League umpires will also participate in All-Star festivities, beginning with Sunday's SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game. Travis Eggert will call balls and strikes, Jansen Visconti will man first, Nate White will take over second and Matt McCoy will work third. McCoy and White will also staff Sunday's Taco Bell All-Star Legends & Celebrity Softball Game. All four will be on the field for the Gillette Home Run Derby on Gatorade All-Star Workout Day on Monday.

Stew Thornley and Gregg Wong, MLB's longtime Minnesota-based scorers, will be joined by LaVelle Neal, Minneapolis Star-Tribune writer and the president of the Baseball Writers' Association of America, as official scorers of the All-Star Game. In addition, Thornley and Wong will share scoring duties for Sunday's SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game.

Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters on Sunday, fans began voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans can cast their votes from a list of five players from each league until the winners are announced after the voting concludes on Thursday at 4 p.m. ET.

The candidates are Casey McGehee (Marlins), Justin Morneau (Rockies), Anthony Rendon (Nationals), Anthony Rizzo (Cubs) and Justin Upton (Braves) in the NL and Dallas Keuchel (Astros), Corey Kluber (Indians), Garrett Richards (Angels), Rick Porcello (Tigers) and Chris Sale (White Sox) in the AL.

The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans help choose the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at MLB.com and via Twitter in the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their collective voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

MLB.TV Premium subscribers, for the first time, will be able to live stream the All-Star Game via MLB.TV through FOX's participating video providers. Access will be available across more than 400 platforms that support MLB.TV, including the award-winning MLB.com At Bat app. MLB.com will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit allstargame.com.

Maria Torres is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.