Replays on the scoreboard at Coors Field seemed to show Carpenter's glove sweeping just above LeMahieu's lower leg and the tag being applied high on his thigh after his foot hit the bag. However, a closer look showed that strings dangling from Carpenters glove may have touched LeMahieu's ankle before his foot hit the bag.
After review, the play would stand, indicating there wasn't conclusive evidence to overturn, nor confirm, the call.
A frustrated Weiss slammed both his hands against the padded dugout railing and, according to amateur lip-readers in the press box, yelled, "What do we have replay for?"
That may have stemmed from a play in Monday night's 8-0 loss, once again with Carpenter at the center.
Carpenter was ruled to have been hit by a pitch, even though replays shown in the stadium appeared to show the ball didn't hit him. The Rockies after the game contended Carpenter wasn't hit, but the call would stand and he was awarded first base because replays were inconclusive.
Tuesday's play at third was the second call of the night that went against the Rockies, although the other was not reviewable. With the Cardinals' Matt Holliday at second base, Allen Craig hit a bouncer between third and short. The Rockies contended the ball grazed Holliday's right forearm, causing the bizzare hop that sent the ball spinning past shortstop Troy Tulowitzki.
Obstruction, which would have been the call if umpires had ruled the ball hit Holliday, is not reviewable. Weiss asked the umpires to consult on the field. They did, and didn't change it. Holliday scored the Cards' fifth run of the game and Craig ended up with an RBI single.
Thomas Harding is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @harding_at_mlb. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.