Astros assign Draft signings to rookie league clubs

Astros assign Draft signings to rookie league clubs

ST. PETERSBURG -- The Astros on Thursday announced the signing of 14 more picks from the First-Year Player Draft, assigning them to rookie league Greeneville and the rookie Gulf Coast League Astros.

The players assigned to Greeneville are right-hander Dean Deetz (11th round), infielder Connor Goedert (15th round), outfielder Ramon Laureano (16th round), infielder Antonio Nunez (18th round), catcher Trent Woodward (20th round), infielder Bryan Muniz (22nd round), outfielder Sean McMullen (30th round), right-hander Joshua James (34th round) and right-hander Eric Peterson (37th round).

The players assigned to the GCL are catcher Ruben Castro (19th round), catcher Richard Gonzalez (29th round), infielder Dexture McCall (31st round), outfielder Edwin Medina (33rd round) and right-hander Justin Ferrell (36th round). The Astros have signed 28 of their 41 selections from the 2014 Draft.

The Greeneville Astros are owned and operated by the Astros, and last year finished with their second-best regular-season record in club history at 38-30. Greeneville made it to the Appalachian League Championship series before falling to Pulaski, 2-0, in the three-game set.

The GCL Astros are based out of the Astros' Spring Training complex in Kissimmee, Fla. Last year the club went 27-33.

Brian McTaggart is a reporter for and writes an MLBlog, Tag's Lines. Follow @brianmctaggart on Twitter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.