St. Louis BBWAA Dinner set for Monday

St. Louis BBWAA Dinner set for Monday

ST. LOUIS -- It was another banner year for baseball in St. Louis, and the 2010 baseball calendar kicks off with a celebration of not only the highlights of 2009, but some from the past as well.

The 52nd annual St. Louis Baseball Writers' Dinner is set for Monday night, Jan. 18 at the Millennium Hotel in downtown St. Louis. The event will honor National League Most Valuable Player Albert Pujols, new Hall of Famer Whitey Herzog, the 2009 NL Central champion Cardinals and one of the most beloved teams in franchise history, the 1985 National League champions.

The event will be held at 6:30 p.m. CT on Jan. 18, wrapping up a weekend that of course includes the annual Cardinals Care Winter Warm-Up.

Pujols is a three-time NL MVP and has been honored as the St. Louis Baseball Man of the Year, either alone or sharing the award, in each of his previous eight seasons. This year he won his second successive MVP Award and became the second Cardinals player to win the award three times.

Herzog managed the Redbirds from 1980-90, using the "Whiteyball" style of baseball, which emphasized speed, defense and getting on base. He led the team to three pennants and the 1982 World Series championship. Herzog also managed the Rangers, Angels and Royals.

Other honorees at the dinner are tentatively scheduled to include Adam Wainwright, Chris Carpenter, manager Tony La Russa, Yadier Molina, Ryan Franklin, Colby Rasmus and Skip Schumaker of the Cardinals, Philadelphia Phillies star Ryan Howard, Chicago White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle and Chicago Cubs pitcher Randy Wells. Howard, Buehrle and Wells all hail from the St. Louis area.

The 1985 Cardinals team, which was managed by Herzog, will be honored on its 25th anniversary. That club went 101-61, beat the Dodgers in a famous NL Championship Series and lost a heartbreaking seven-game World Series against the Royals. It was the first 100-win Cardinals team since 1967, and the last one until 2004.

Among the representatives of that club who are scheduled to be honored are Herzog, fellow Hall of Famer Ozzie Smith, Jack Clark, Todd Worrell, Rick Horton, Danny Cox, Ken Dayley, Curt Ford and Tito Landrum.

The annual St. Louis Writers' Dinner is one of three still taking place in the country, along with the ones in New York and Boston.

Tickets cost $150, and each ticket includes a pass to the Winter Warm-Up. For ticket information, fans may call (314) 229-3040. Tickets can also be purchased by mail. To do so, send a check or money order to BBWAA St. Louis Baseball Dinner, P.O. Box 605, St. Louis, MO 63188.

Matthew Leach is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.