Now Commenting On:

Defensive Player of the Year Award winners to be unveiled tonight on MLB Network


Secaucus, N.J., November 7, 2013 - Looking at impressive fielding performances from teams to individual players, the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards will be announced tonight at 6:00 p.m. ET exclusively on MLB Network.

Hosted by MLB Network's Brian Kenny with appearances from analysts Jerry Manuel, Dan Plesac and Harold Reynolds, the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards will name the best defensive player on each MLB club, as well as the best defensive player and the best defensive team in the American and National Leagues.

Founded in 2012, the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award winners are determined by using a formula that balances scouting information, sabermetric analysis and basic fielding statistics. As announced last year on MLB Network, outfielders Mike Trout and Michael Bourn were each named the inaugural Wilson Defensive Player of the Year in their respective leagues, while the Atlanta Braves were the first to be named as the Wilson Defensive Team of the Year.


Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español