Now Commenting On:

Umpires for the 109th World Series Announced


John Hirschbeck will serve as the crew chief for the 2013 World Series and will be behind the plate for Wednesday's Game One of the 109th Fall Classic between the National League Champion St. Louis Cardinals and the American League Champion Boston Red Sox at Fenway Park, Major League Baseball announced today.

Hirschbeck, who has more than 30 years of Major League experience, will lead a crew that features fellow regular season crew chiefs Dana DeMuth and Jim Joyce along with Major League Umpires Paul Emmel, Bill Miller and Mark Wegner. All six members of the crew worked the Division Series round of the 2013 Postseason, during which Hirschbeck and DeMuth also served as the crew chiefs for their match-ups. 

The 2013 Fall Classic will be the fourth career World Series for Hirschbeck, who was assigned to the event in 1995, 2006 and 2010, a year when he was also the crew chief. It will be the fifth career Fall Classic for DeMuth, who will join Gerry Davis and Joe West for most World Series worked among the active staff. Joyce has been assigned to his third career Fall Classic and Miller will be a part of his second. This will mark the first World Series duties for both Emmel and Wegner.

The 2013 World Series crew will continue to wear patches with the initials "WB," honoring the memory of 21-year Major League Umpire Wally Bell, who passed away on October 14th. Bell worked the 2006 World Series, the 2013 All-Star Game at Citi Field in New York and the Pirates-Cardinals N.L. Division Series this Postseason. 

A complete listing of the umpire rotation for the 2013 World Series, which will be exclusively covered by FOX Sports and ESPN Radio, accompanies this press release.

Game 1         Umpire                 Previous Career Postseason Assignments

HP                    John Hirschbeck *   9 DS (1995, 98-99, 01, 03, 05-06, 10, 13); 4 LCS (1990, 97, 00, 04); 3 WS (1995, 06, 10)

1B                     Mark Wegner            7 DS (2003-05, 08-09, 12-13); 1 LCS (2007)

2B                     Dana DeMuth ^        9 DS (1996-97, 99, 01, 08-10, 12-13); 5 LCS (1991, 95, 00, 02, 07); 4 WS (1993, 98, 01, 09)

3B                     Paul Emmel               8 DS (2002-03, 06, 08-10, 12-13); 1 LCS (2007)

LF                     Bill Miller                1 WC (2012); 6 DS (2002-03, 05, 08, 10, 13); 3 LCS (2009, 11-12); 1 WS (2010)

RF                    Jim Joyce ^               10 DS (1995, 98-99, 01-03, 08-09, 12-13); 4 LCS (1997, 04, 06-07); 2 WS (1999, 01)

* - World Series Crew Chief; ^ - Regular Season Crew Chief

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español