Goldschmidt named D-backs nominee for 2013 Hank Aaron Award

PHOENIX - Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that Paul Goldschmidt was named the D-backs' nominee for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award.

Fans can vote exclusively online at and the 30 Club sites. For the fourth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

Goldschmidt, 26, hit .302 with 36 doubles, 36 home runs and 125 RBI in 160 games with the D-backs this season. The NL All-Star became the first player in club history to lead or tie for the league lead in home runs and RBI, while also ranking first in slugging percentage (.551), OPS (.952), extra-base hits (75) and total bases (332).

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time -Roberto Alomar, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers - who combined for 15,581 hits, 6,902 RBI and 1,334 home runs - have all been personally selected by Hank Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League.

 Through October 10, fans will have the opportunity to select one AL and one NL winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2013 World Series.

"It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League with an award in my name," said Hank Aaron. "The game is full of so many talented players today that I am thankful my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans assist in selecting the much deserving winners."

The finalists for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League

Baltimore Orioles - Chris Davis

Boston Red Sox - David Ortiz

Chicago White Sox - Alexei Ramirez

Cleveland Indians - Jason Kipnis

Detroit Tigers - Miguel Cabrera

Houston Astros - Jason Castro

Kansas City Royals - Eric Hosmer

LA Angels of Anaheim - Mike Trout

Minnesota Twins - Joe Mauer

New York Yankees - Robinson Cano

Oakland Athletics - Josh Donaldson

Seattle Mariners - Kendrys Morales

Tampa Bay Rays - Evan Longoria

Texas Rangers - Adrian Beltre

Toronto Blue Jays - Edwin Encarnacion


National League

Arizona Diamondbacks - Paul Goldschmidt

Atlanta Braves - Freddie Freeman

Chicago Cubs - Nate Schierholtz

Cincinnati Reds - Jay Bruce

Colorado Rockies - Michael Cuddyer

Los Angeles Dodgers - Hanley Ramirez

Miami Marlins - Giancarlo Stanton

Milwaukee Brewers - Carlos Gomez

New York Mets - David Wright

Philadelphia Phillies - Domonic Brown

Pittsburgh Pirates - Andrew McCutchen

St. Louis Cardinals - Matt Carpenter

San Diego Padres - Will Venable

San Francisco Giants - Hunter Pence

Washington Nationals - Jayson Werth

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012), Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.