Ventura ejected in fourth inning at Fenway

Ventura ejected in fourth inning at Fenway

Ventura ejected in fourth inning at Fenway

BOSTON -- Robin Ventura was ejected for the seventh time in his managerial career and the third time this season during Sunday's 7-6 loss to the Red Sox at Fenway Park. Crew chief Dana DeMuth ejected Ventura after he argued a no-catch call by third-base umpire Paul Nauert on a line drive Conor Gillaspie appeared to grab.

It was a play that had a direct effect on the outcome and Boston's completion of a three-game sweep, which marked the 11th time the White Sox were swept this season.

With Jacoby Ellsbury on third, one out and Boston leading, 5-4, Gillaspie dove toward the line to snag Dustin Pedroia's shot off reliever Charlie Leesman and the ball only appeared to come out of his glove when Gillaspie crawled toward third and tried to double up Ellsbury. Nauert ruled no catch from the start, and Gillaspie's throw got by first baseman Jeff Keppinger for a run-scoring hit and an error.

"I guess he said I didn't control it," said Gillaspie. "I kind of looked at the replay. I was trying to double a guy off at third, so when I went after I caught it and hit the ground, I kind of came up and it came out a little bit.

"Like I said, it's obviously a tough play and a tough error for me. I can either do that or watch it go by me. I obviously think I caught it, but until I know that for sure, I'm going to try to get the guy out at first running, too."

Ventura's argument began with Nauert. It was DeMuth who eventually came over from second base and tossed the White Sox manager.

"He felt he didn't control it all the way and I felt that he did and he was going for the second out," Ventura said. "Obviously, we didn't agree."

Scott Merkin is a reporter for Read his blog, Merk's Works, and follow him on Twitter @scottmerkin. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.