Online voting eclipses previous mark

Online voting eclipses previous mark

Online fan balloting for the 16 elected starting position players in the 2009 All-Star Game came to a record-setting end on Thursday night.

During the 2009 All-Star Game Sprint Online Balloting program, 223.5 million votes from 17.8 million ballots were cast at and the 30 individual club sites. Both are the largest figures in the nine years of online balloting at, surpassing the previous record in 2008.

The American and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2009 MLB All-Star Selection Show, presented by Pepsi, on Sunday on TBS at 1 p.m. ET. will also provide coverage of the All-Star teams immediately following the announcement, and MLB Network will air a special MLB Tonight All-Star Edition -- simulcast on -- at 6 p.m. ET.

At the conclusion of the show, fans will be able to select the final player for each league's 33-man roster via the All-Star Game Sprint Final Vote, exclusively on Fans can also cast their votes by text on Sprint phones.

The managers from both leagues -- the AL's Joe Maddon (Rays) and the NL's Charlie Manuel (Phillies) -- will each designate five players who will be candidates for the All-Star Game Sprint Final Vote, and fans will pick one from each list. Balloting will continue until 4 p.m. ET on Thursday, and the winners will be announced on shortly thereafter.

The All-Star Game will take place July 14 at Busch Stadium in St. Louis.