Now Commenting On:

Umpires, official scorers named for 2013 Midsummer Classic


      John Hirschbeck, a regular season crew chief in his 30th year of Major League service, will be the Crew Chief and the home plate umpire for the 84th All-Star Game on July 16th at Citi Field, the home of the New York Mets, it was announced today.

     This will be the third career Midsummer Classic assignment for Hirschbeck, who worked the 1989 and 2004 All-Star Games, and the first in which he will lead the crew. The Connecticut native has been assigned to eight Division Series, four League Championship Series and three World Series. Hirschbeck's crew features Wally Bell (first base), Larry Vanover (second base), Paul Emmel (third base), Rob Drake (left field) and Chad Fairchild (right field). Like Hirschbeck, this will be the third All-Star Game for Bell (previously: 1997, 2000); the second for Vanover (1999) and Emmel (2002); and the first for Drake and Fairchild.

     The Minor League Baseball Umpires who will work Sunday's SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game are Pat Hoberg (home plate) of the Pacific Coast League, Gabe Morales (first base) of the International League, Ryan Goodman (second base) of the Southern League and Nic Lentz (third base) of the Eastern League. All four umpires have been assigned to the Chevrolet Home Run Derby on Gatorade All-Star Workout Day on Monday, July 15th, while Goodman and Lentz also will work Sunday's Taco Bell All-Star Legends and Celebrity Softball Game.

     The official scorers for the 2013 All-Star Game will be longtime New York-based Major League Baseball scorers Jordan Sprechman and Howie Karpin along with Susan Slusser of the San Francisco Chronicle, the President of the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA). In addition, Karpin will serve as the official scorer for Sunday's SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game.

     The 2013 Midsummer Classic will be played at Citi Field on Tuesday, July 16th. The 84th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports; in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS; and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. Pregame ceremonies will begin at 7:30 p.m. (EDT). ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide exclusive national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network, MLB.com and Sirius XM also will provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit allstargame.com or mets.com/asg.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español