Cards honor Double-A Springfield title winners

Cards honor Double-A Springfield title winners

Cards honor Double-A Springfield title winners
ST. LOUIS -- The St. Louis Cardinals honored the coaching staff of their Double-A Springfield, Mo., affiliate before Friday's contest.

Springfield won the Texas League title by beating Frisco, 3-2, in the best-of-five championship series.

Springfield manager Mike Shildt attended batting practice before Friday's game against Washington.

"It was a tremendous season," Shildt said. "Great staff, great team, a lot of high-character guys. It was a real good combination of things."

Shildt and his staff, including pitching coach Bryan Eversgerd and hitting coach Phillip Wellman, were honored by St. Louis general manager John Mozeliak and Minor League director John Vuch before the contest. The group displayed the Texas League championship trophy and drew a large ovation from the crowd.

Two current players on the St. Louis roster -- pitchers Sam Freeman and Trevor Rosenthal -- spent part of the season in Springfield. Shildt got a chance to talk to them prior to Friday's contest.

"I'm really happy for them," Shildt said. "It's good see them contribute."

Shildt is on his way to help in instructional league in Florida. He managed the Cardinals' Johnson City, Tenn., rookie league team to the Appalachian League crown in 2011.

Outfielder Oscar Taveras helped lead the way with 23 homers and 94 RBIs for Springfield, batting .321. Second baseman Kolten Wong, the Cardinals' first-round Draft choice in 2011, also had a fine campaign with a .287 average.