Astros name star-studded all-time roster

Astros name star-studded all-time roster

Astros name star-studded all-time roster
The Astros announced their all-time 25-man roster Monday, a group of Houston legends put together by an online fan vote and a panel of 12 baseball writers and broadcasters.

The all-time roster was assembled as part of the Astros' 50th anniversary celebration and consists of 13 position players, 12 pitchers and manager Larry Dierker, who was also voted to the team as a pitcher. The group includes starters at each position, a five-man rotation, a seven-man bullpen with a designated closer and five utility players.

The starting position players named to the all-time roster are catcher Alan Ashby, first baseman Jeff Bagwell, second baseman Craig Biggio, third baseman Doug Rader, shortstop Craig Reynolds and outfielders Lance Berkman, Cesar Cedeno and Jose Cruz.

The starting rotation consists of five right-handers: Dierker, Joe Niekro, Nolan Ryan, Roy Oswalt and Mike Scott. Five of the seven pitchers in Houston's all-time bullpen were actually starters during their days with the Astros. That bullpen includes J.R. Richard, Shane Reynolds, Mike Hampton, Dave Smith, Don Wilson and Roger Clemens as well as appointed closer Billy Wagner.

Rounding out the all-time roster are utility players Jimmy Wynn, Bob Watson, Joe Morgan, Bill Doran and Ken Caminiti, all of whom were everyday players throughout their time in Houston.

The panel that compiled the Astros' all-time roster included 12 media members who combined for more than 200 seasons spent covering the Astros, but the fans played a part in the voting as well. Each month from April through July, fans could vote online for a different segment of the 25-man roster.

Adam Berry is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @adamdberry. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.