Astros announce All-Time 25-Man Roster

HOUSTON, TX —  As part of the ballclub’s season-long celebration of its 50th anniversary, an All-Time Astros 25-Man Roster has been selected by a combination of online fan voting and the voting of a panel of 12 experienced baseball writers and broadcasters.

The roster, which consists of 12 pitchers, 13 position players and a manager, includes starters at each position,  a five-man starting pitching rotation, a seven-man bullpen with a designated closer and five utility players. All five utility players were everyday players in their Astros careers while five of the seven members selected for the bullpen were starting pitchers while with Houston. 

All-Time Astros 25-Man Roster

Starting Position Players
C: Alan Ashby
1B: Jeff Bagwell
2B: Craig Biggio
SS: Craig Reynolds
3B: Doug Rader
OF: Lance Berkman
OF: Cesar Cedeno
OF: Jose Cruz
Starting Rotation
RHP Larry Dierker
RHP Joe Niekro
RHP Nolan Ryan
RHP Roy Oswalt
RHP Mike Scott
RHP Don Wilson
Utility Players
OF Jimmy Wynn
1B Bob Watson
2B Joe Morgan
2B Bill Doran
3B Ken Caminiti
RHP J.R. Richard
RHP Shane Reynolds
LHP Mike Hampton
RHP Roger Clemens
RHP Dave Smith
LHP Billy Wagner
Larry Dierker



The panel of 12 judges that helped select the All-Time Roster have over 200 seasons combined of covering Astros baseball. 

-Zachary Levine - Houston Chronicle beat writer                       
-Brian McTaggart - Astros beat writer       
-Richard Justice - columnist                                           
-Charlie Pallilo - Sports Talk 790 AM
-Milo Hamilton - HOF Astros radio broadcaster                         
-Rene Cardenas - Writer, former Spanish broadcaster
-Gene Elston - HOF former Astros radio broadcaster                 
-Matt Thomas - Sports Talk 790 AM
-Mickey Herskowitz - former Houston Chronicle writer           
- Bill Brown - Astros TV broadcaster
-Ivy McLemore - Former Houston Post Sports Editor                  
-Mark Berman - Fox 26 Sports Director/sportscaster


As part of the online voting process, fans had the opportunity to vote on a different portion of the All-Time Roster each month from April to July.                                            

April - Position Players (all starting positions, excluding pitcher)

May - Utility Players (the five best position players not selected to starting lineup)

June - Starting Pitchers, Closer

July - Manager, Bullpen (the top six pitchers not named to the starting rotation or as closer).



Craig Biggio and Nolan Ryan will be among the close to 40 Astros alumni scheduled to attend the Astros Legends Luncheon, which will be held on Saturday, September 22 at 11:00 a.m. in the Union Station Lobby at Minute Maid Park. The luncheon is a main feature of Legends Weekend, which will be held September 21-23.

In addition to Biggio and Ryan, currently, several other members of the Astros All-Time 25-Man Roster are scheduled to attend the luncheon. They are: Billy Wagner, J.R. Richard, Craig Reynolds, Jose Cruz, Larry Dierker, Alan Ashby, Shane Reynolds and Mike Hampton. Dickie Thon, Phil Garner, Terry Puhl and Enos Cabell are also among the Astros alumni scheduled to take part in the luncheon.

Ticket Information: Fans have the opportunity to attend the luncheon, and can purchase tickets online at