Now Commenting On:

Tigres win 20th Dominican crown

Tigres capture 20th Dominican crown

Nationals infielder Anderson Hernandez singled in the winning run in the 12th inning as the Tigres completed a five-game sweep of the Gigantes and secured their 20th Dominican Winter League championship with a 4-3 win.

Nationals teammate Ronnie Belliard started the 12th with a base hit and moved up on a sacrifice by Marlins infielder Emilio Bonifacio. After Angels infielder Erick Aybar was intentionally walked, Hernandez grounded a single into left field to set off a wild celebration.

Aybar went 3-for-4 with three walks, an RBI and a run scored for the defending Caribbean Series champions, while Angels right-hander Ervin Santana tossed five scoreless innings.

After Licey took the first two games, the Gigantes forfeited Game 3 in protest of the suspension of infielder Felix Martinez. The Tigres posted a rain-shortened win on Friday, setting the stage for the sweep.

The Gigantes did not go quietly. They erased a 2-0 deficit in the eighth on RBI singles by Twins infielder Alexi Casilla and Cubs farmhand Erick Almonte, then forced extra innings on former Major Leaguer Wilson Valdez's two-out run-scoring single in the ninth.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español