D-backs to honor Aaron Hill in pregame ceremony this Saturday

The Arizona Diamondbacks announced today that they will honor second baseman Aaron Hill during a pregame ceremony this Saturday for his historic achievement of hitting for the cycle twice this season. Fans are encouraged to be in their seats by 6:45 p.m. in order to see Hill receive a surprise gift on behalf of the organization.

On June 18, Hill became just the fifth D-backs player to hit for the cycle when he accomplished the feat against the Seattle Mariners at Chase Field. Just 11 days later, on June 29, Hill hit for the cycle again to become just the second player in the modern era to hit for the cycle twice in a season and the first player to do so since Babe Herman in 1931. Two other players, both of the American Association, hit for a pair of cycles in a season: John Reilly (1883 Cincinnati Red Stockings) and Tip O’Neill (1887 St. Louis Browns).

Hill’s accomplishments have garnered national and international attention due to the rare nature of the feat and the fact that he was recently one of five players placed on the National League’s Final Vote on MLB.com. Millions of votes were cast for Hill to take the final spot on the All-Star team, with St. Louis’ David Freese winning the online balloting.

Hill and the D-backs had teamed up with the Rangers and Yu Darvish, as Japanese fans cast votes for their native son as well as the former Toronto Blue Jays second baseman. Hill encouraged many of his fans in Canada to vote for Darvish in a number of media interviews in Canada and the United States over the last three days.

Among NL second basemen, Hill ranks first with 36 extra-base hits and a .510 slugging percentage, tied for first with 5 triples and 11 home runs, second with a .296 average, 87 hits, .354 on-base percentage and fourth with 39 RBI. Hill reached base safely in 21 straight games from April 12-May 4, tied for the ninth-longest streak in the NL this season.

Hill currently has a 19-game hitting streak at Chase Field, tying him for the third-longest in club history with teammate Willie Bloomquist (2011-2012).