White Sox pitcher Jake Peavy seeks third career All-Star selection

For the 10th time since 2002, a Chicago White Sox player is in the running for Major League Baseball’s All-Star Game Final Vote, sponsored by Firestone, as Jake Peavy was one of five players selected for the American League ballot.   The White Sox starting pitcher joins Jonathan Broxton from the Royals, Yu Darvish from the Rangers,  Ernesto Frieri from the Angels and Jason Hammel from the Orioles on the ballot.  White Sox fans now have until 3 p.m. CT on Thursday, July 5 to vote for Peavy at whitesox.com or mlb.com/vote.

Peavy ranks among AL leaders in numerous categories this season, including complete games (T1st, 4), innings pitched (2nd, 112.2), average against (5th, .215), strikeouts (6th, 101) and ERA (6th, 2.96).  Peavy looks to join teammates Adam Dunn (2nd All-Star appearance), Paul Konerko (6th All-Star appearance) and Chris Sale (1st All-Star appearance) at this year’s Midsummer Classic.

The White Sox are calling on all fans to get out the vote to #TakeJake to the All-Star Game in Kansas City.  Fans can vote to send the former Cy Young Award winner to the All-Star Game by texting A5 to 89269 in addition to voting online at whitesox.com or mlb.com/vote.

In 2005, White Sox fans voted Scott Podsednik to the All-Star Game through the Final Vote ballot, and in 2006 A.J. Pierzynski was voted onto the A.L. team as the result of the team's successful “Punch A.J.” campaign. Konerko garnered a spot on the A.L. roster last year via the Final Vote and team’s extensive “PaulStar” campaign.  

Previous winners of the All-Star Game Final Vote include:  Paul Konerko (A.L., 2011) and Shane Victorino (N.L., 2011); Nick Swisher (A.L., 2010) and Joey Votto (N.L., 2010); Brandon Inge (A.L., 2009) and Shane Victorino (N.L., 2009); Evan Longoria (A.L., 2008) and Corey Hart (NL, 2008); Hideki Okajima (A.L., 2007) and Chris Young (NL, 2007); A.J. Pierzynski (A.L., 2006) and Nomar Garciaparra (NL, 2006); Scott Podsednik (A.L., 2005) and Roy Oswalt (NL, 2005); Hideki Matsui (A.L., 2004) and Bobby Abreu (NL, 2004); Jason Varitek (A.L., 2003) and Geoff Jenkins (NL, 2003); Johnny Damon (A.L., 2002) and Andruw Jones (NL, 2002).

Balloting is now open at whitesox.com and mlb.com/vote and continues until 3 p.m. CT on Thursday, July 5. The winners will be announced on mlb.com shortly thereafter.