Matheny tries to take lesson out of lineup confusion

Matheny tries to take lesson out of lineup confusion

Matheny tries to take lesson out of lineup confusion
MIAMI -- Despite his team's thrilling 8-7 win Monday night at Marlins Park, Cardinals manager Mike Matheny didn't get a good night's rest.

"The more I mulled over it, the more I realized what a special win it was," Matheny said. "It's a shame the other things distracted from what a real good win that was."

The other things Matheny was referring to? A misunderstanding between him and home-plate umpire Bob Davidson over a double-switch in the bottom of the ninth inning.

Matheny brought in reliever Victor Marte and pulled third baseman David Freese for Tyler Greene, intending to bat Marte seventh -- since the seven-hole was the final out in the top of the inning -- and have Greene play second and bat ninth while moving Daniel Descalso to third.

Marlins manager Ozzie Guillen argued with Davidson about the switch, saying Freese should've still been at third base and that Marte should be fifth in the order based on what he was told. After Davidson conferred on the field with the other umpires, he had the Cardinals removed fifth hitter Allen Craig from the game.

St. Louis ultimately had Descalso move from second to third, Greene move to second and bat ninth, Marte in the five-hole and Tony Cruz enter the game, batting seventh and playing first.

Although the snafu eventually resulted in Wednesday starter Joe Kelly driving in the winning run in the 10th inning, the situation with the double-switch didn't sit well with Matheny in the wee hours of Tuesday morning.

"I thought about it last night really long," Matheny said. "The only thing that I could see that happened is that I gave him the move, and then I scratched it out on the scorecard, wrote it in. Then I think by the time I gave him time to catch up, I was already talking about the subsequent move with Descalso and Greene and what was going to happen there.

"At some point there, something got garbled up and I'm trying to go out and get the pitcher off the mound to make the change, and to me, that's the opportunity that if I did say, 'Five-hole,' that's it. I'm not denying that that may have happened. I believe Bob's taking a lot of heat right now, and I don't think that's necessarily deserved."

After Monday's misunderstanding, Matheny said he plans on adjusting how he handles it, just to make sure a similar situation doesn't occur in the future.

"I think I do [need to make a change]," Matheny said. "All the conversations I had early on were about going through that, making sure to write it down while we're doing it, and I didn't watch [Davidson] write it down."