Kemp, Hamilton lead State Farm Home Run Derby fan poll

Defending champion Robinson Cano and Matt Kemp – the AL and NL captains for the 2012 State Farm Home Run Derby (@StateFarm #HRDerby on Twitter), respectively – still have a few more weeks to determine who they will select as their teammates. But for now, the fans are weighing in through the State Farm Home Run Derby Fan Poll.

Kemp – who hit 12 home runs before being sidelined with a hamstring injury – leads in the NL, while Josh Hamilton – whose 22 home runs include a record-tying four in one game – leads in the AL. Ryan Braun, Matt Holliday, Giancarlo Stanton and Joey Votto round out the top five in the NL with Prince Fielder, Jose Bautista, David Ortiz and Albert Pujols next in the AL. Now in its fourth year as a feature of the MLB All-Star Game Balloting Program, the State Farm Home Run Derby Fan Poll gives fans the opportunity to select three players in each League who they would most like to see participate in the State Farm Home Run Derby.

Cano and Kemp will choose their teammates closer to the event.

Through Wednesday, June 20, the leaders are:
American League National League
1. Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers               1. Matt Kemp, Los Angeles Dodgers
2. Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers                  2. Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
3. Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays            3. Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals
4. David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox                   4. Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins
5. Albert Pujols, Los Angeles Angels          5. Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds

The 2012 State Farm Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the U.S. beginning at 7:00 p.m. CT (8:00 p.m.
ET) on Monday, July 9th. The 83nd All-Star Game will be held the following day on Tuesday, July 10th. Ortiz won the 2010 State Farm Home Run Derby in Anaheim, while Fielder won
in 2009 in St. Louis. Hamilton set a single-round record with 28 home runs in the first round at Yankee Stadium in 2008.