Uggla leading his position in NL All-Star voting

Uggla leading his position in NL All-Star voting

Uggla leading his position in NL All-Star voting
ATLANTA -- Dan Uggla has garnered the most votes among National League second basemen and Chipper Jones has received strong support during his final year on the All-Star ballot.

As for Brian McCann, he is going to need some more support to earn the chance to serve as the National League's starting catcher at the All-Star Game for a second straight year.

Uggla received a pleasant surprise when Major League Baseball released this year's first balloting update on Tuesday afternoon. His 872,136 votes put him comfortably ahead of Cincinnati's Brandon Phillips, who ranks second with 586,835.

As Jones nears his retirement, the only ballpark he has not visited is Kansas City's Kauffman Stadium, the site of this year's All-Star Game. The 40-year-old veteran has enjoyed a successful final season while dealing with multiple injuries this year.

Jones ranks third among NL third basemen with 727,719 votes. New York's David Wright leads this group with 856,887 and St. Louis' David Freese ranks second with 824,801.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times at and all 30 club sites -- online or via a mobile device -- using the 2012 All-Star Game Ballot until Thursday, June 28, at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Fans can also once again participate in the State Farm Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the State Farm Home Run Derby. The 2012 State Farm Home Run Derby -- part of Gatorade All-Star Workout Day -- will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 9.

The 2012 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 1, on the 2012 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show, televised nationally on TBS. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the 2012 All-Star Game Final Vote on

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the official voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2012 All-Star Game MVP Vote, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the official vote determining the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

The 2012 All-Star Game will be played at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City on Tuesday, July 10. Come to for extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 83rd All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and Sirius XM also will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit or

McCann has earned an All-Star selection in each of his first six full seasons at the Major League level. He currently ranks third among NL catchers with 707,508 votes. St. Louis' Yadier Molina leads this group with 1,100,048 and San Francisco's Buster Posey ranks second with 1,072,464.

Freddie Freeman is third among NL first basemen with 576,255 votes. Cincinnati's Joey Votto comfortably leads with 1,314,516.

Martin Prado has been the Braves' most consistent offensive contributor. But unlike his teammates Jason Heyward and Michael Bourn, he does not rank among the NL's top 15 outfielders. Heyward ranks seventh with 515,340 votes and Bourn eighth with 498,070.

Mark Bowman is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.