Ethier nets RBI after scorer's ruling changed

Ethier nets RBI after scorer's ruling changed

Ethier nets RBI after scorer's ruling changed
PHOENIX -- Dodgers outfielder Andre Ethier is so productive that he added to his stats even before Tuesday night's game against the D-backs.

After an appeal by the club, Major League Baseball changed an official scorer's ruling and gave Ethier an RBI double on a ball that flicked off the glove of San Diego center fielder Cameron Maybin, who was originally charged with an error, in the Dodgers' 8-1 win over the Padres on Thursday.

Bobby Abreu, who had doubled, scored on the play. As a result of the change, Ethier entered Tuesday with a league-leading 39 RBIs, 13 doubles, 92 total bases (second in the league), 23 extra-base hits (tied for second) and a .321 average.

In another scoring change, Justin Sellers was credited with an infield single in the sixth inning on Monday night on a ball originally scored as an error on Arizona third baseman Josh Bell.