Club Representatives at 2012 Draft Announced

          Hall of Famers Pat Gillick, Ferguson Jenkins, Tommy Lasorda and Frank Robinson are among a decorated group of stars and front office figures who are scheduled to attend Major League Baseball’s 2012 First-Year Player Draft, which will be held on Monday, June 4th at MLB Network’s Studio 42 in Secaucus, New Jersey.  The Draft will begin live on MLB Network and at 7:00 p.m. (ET).  Prior to the start of the Draft, MLB Network will air a Draft preview show, also simulcast on, at 6:00 p.m. (ET). 

          Five-time All-Star pitcher and 2007 American League Cy Young Award winner CC Sabathia of the New York Yankees is scheduled to be in attendance, along with recently retired 14-time All-Star catcher Ivan Rodriguez, the 1999 A.L. Most Valuable Player, who will represent the Texas Rangers.  All 30 Major League Clubs will be represented at the 2012 Draft.  Other former All-Stars who are scheduled to be on hand include Brady Anderson (BAL), Brad Ausmus (SD), Bob Boone (WSH), Mike Cameron (SEA), MLB Network analyst Sean Casey (CIN), Ron Cey (LAD), Larry Dierker (HOU), Dwight Evans (BOS), Ryan Franklin (STL), Ralph Garr (ATL), Luis Gonzalez (ARI), Pat Hentgen (TOR), Roberto Hernandez (TB), Don Money (MIL), Tony Oliva (MIN), Jim Sundberg (TEX), Kent Tekulve (PIT) and MLB Executive Vice President for Baseball Operations Joe Torre.  In addition to Dierker, Gillick, Lasorda, Robinson and Torre, former managers and executives scheduled to attend include Pat Corrales (WSH), Mike Hargrove (CLE), Roland Hemond (ARI) and Jack McKeon (MIA).  In addition, Philadelphia Phillies chairman Bill Giles also is expected to attend.  Invitations to attend have been extended to several amateur prospects.

Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig will announce selections in the first round.  Club representatives will announce the selections in Compensation Round A, spanning picks 32-60. 

          The 2012 Draft will span three days.  For day one on June 4th, MLB Network and will provide live pick-by-pick coverage during the first round as well as the first compensation round.  The Draft will resume at 12:00 p.m. (ET) on both Tuesday, June 5th and Wednesday, June 6th via conference call from MLB headquarters in New York City.  Tuesday, June 5th will cover rounds two through 15, and Wednesday, June 6th will cover rounds 16 through 40.  (Per the new Basic Agreement, the Draft will have 40 rounds, instead of 50.  A Club may pass on its selection in any round and not forfeit its right to participate.)  The intervals between selections will last five minutes during the first round and one minute during the compensation round.  Rounds two through 10 will have one minute between selections, and the remainder of the selections will be made without delays.

Beginning with the Draft preview show, MLB Network’s live coverage will feature interviews with club front office personnel and representatives, footage from club draft rooms, interviews with prospects and newly drafted players, and news and analysis from MLB Network’s Greg Amsinger, Peter Gammons, John Hart, Brian Kenny, Harold Reynolds, Sam Ryan, Lauren Shehadi, and Matt Yallof, as well as Jonathan Mayo of and Jim Callis of Baseball America.

Continuing coverage at the start of day two, will deliver exclusive live programming of the Draft’s final two days, including a live pick-by-pick stream, expert draft and scouting commentary and DraftCaster, a live interactive application that includes a searchable database of every draft-eligible player supplemented by statistics, scouting reports and video highlights.

The selection order of the First-Year Player Draft is determined by the reverse order of finish at the close of the previous championship season.  Compensation picks have been assigned to Clubs whose Type A or Type B free agents signed with other Clubs and/or to Clubs that did not sign a player who was chosen in the first three rounds of the 2011 First-Year Player Draft.  The Houston Astros will have the first overall selection of the 2012 Draft, marking the third time in Club history it has the top choice (previous: 1976, 1992).  Four Clubs have two first round picks: the Toronto Blue Jays (17th and 22nd), the St. Louis Cardinals (19th and 23rd), the Boston Red Sox (24th and 31st) and the Milwaukee Brewers (27th and 28th).  The Cardinals have five of the first 59 selections and the Blue Jays hold five of the first 60 picks.