Gimenez having trouble avoiding interference

Gimenez having trouble avoiding interference

Gimenez having trouble avoiding interference
BALTIMORE -- Chris Gimenez earned a dubious distinction Saturday night when he was called for his third catcher's interference this season. In doing so, he became the first catcher to commit three in one season since Mike Napoli did it with the Angels in 2006.

The interference took place when Luis Exposito led off the Orioles' fifth against Matt Moore.

"I'm shocked," Gimenez said. "I can't tell you when that's ever happened to me before that. I was talking to the umpire [during Saturday night's game] and I said I don't move up at all. Unless the guy's way up in the box, I'm in the same spot all the time. I felt like he kind of took a later swing on it.

"It was just a pitch that was up and in and I reached up to grab it. And the next thing I know, he swiped the blade of my glove and it was just like, 'Are you kidding me, I can't get away from that now.' I don't know what the heck to do, it's just one of those things."

Gimenez's miscue Saturday night, which is classified as an error, extended his own club record for catcher's interference in a single season. He has committed three of the seven catcher's interferences in the Major Leagues this season.

"I think it's freaky," Rays manager Joe Maddon said. "Sometimes there's just certain hitters you have to log that you have to play a little bit further back ... Overall I don't see anything awful."