Del Crandall and Hank Aaron inducted into the Milwaukee Braves Honor Roll

MILWAUKEE - The Milwaukee Brewers and the Milwaukee Braves Historical Association today inducted Del Crandall and Hank Aaron into the Braves Honor Roll, which is located on the Miller Park Field Level Concourse along the third base side (near the Main Gate).

Crandall played 16 seasons in the Major Leagues, including 11 years with the Milwaukee Braves from 1953-63. He began his career with the Boston Braves (1949-50) and spent two years in the military from 1951-52 before joining the Milwaukee Braves, where he was an eight-time All-Star and four-time Gold Glove winner as a catcher. Following 11 seasons in Milwaukee, he spent one season each with the San Francisco Giants (1964), Pittsburgh Pirates (1965) and Cleveland Indians (1966). He had a .254 career batting average with 179 home runs and 657 RBI in 1,573 games. Crandall returned to Milwaukee as manager of the Brewers from 1972-75, where he compiled a 271-338 record (.445).

Aaron began his Major League career with the Milwaukee Braves (1954-65) and also played for the Atlanta Braves (1966-74) and Milwaukee Brewers (1975-76). During his 23-year playing career, he was named an All-Star for 21 consecutive seasons and he retired with an MLB-best 755 career homers. He still holds the Major League records for RBI (2,297), extra-base hits (1,477) and total bases (6,856). While with the Milwaukee Braves, he was named National League MVP in 1957 and belted pennant-clinching home runs in each of the Braves World Series seasons (1957 and 1958). Aaron was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1982.  

There are now 11 members in the Milwaukee Braves Wall of Honor, which also includes Warren Spahn (2004), Johnny Logan (2005), Andy Pafko (2006), Bobby Thomson (2008), Bob Uecker (2009), Felix Mantilla (2010) and Eddie Mathews (2010), Joe Adcock (2011) and Frank Torre (2011).