Padres Extend Player Development Contract with AA San Antonio

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – The San Diego Padres announced today that they have extended their Player Development Contract with Double-A San Antonio of the Texas League for two years through the 2014 season.  Executive Vice President/General Manager Josh Byrnes made the announcement.
“We are pleased to extend our affiliation with San Antonio,” said Byrnes. “The Elmore family and Burl Yarbrough have been terrific partners. We look forward to continuing to developing players and striving for more championships in San Antonio.”
Over parts of six years as a Padres affiliate, the Missions have posted a 389-337 (.536) regular season record. The partnership has been highlighted by Texas League Championships in 2007, San Antonio’s first year with San Diego, and 2011. The 2007 Missions were named the Minor League Team of the Year by Baseball America while the 2011 club was named Minor League Team of the Year and Double-A Team of the Year by
The 2011 Missions went 94-46 during the regular season, en route to the 12th Texas League championship in franchise history. Their .671 winning percentage was tops among all minor league clubs while the 94 wins were the most in the Texas League since the advent of the 140-game schedule in 1961 and were second most in franchise history, one shy of the 95 victories by the 1908 club.
“San Antonio and the Texas League have a rich baseball history and the Padres are thrilled to extend our affiliation with the Missions for at least another two seasons,” said Vice President, Player Development & International Scouting Randy Smith. “We have had very successful relationship, culminating in two Texas League championships, and believe San Antonio and the Missions provide an excellent opportunity to develop Major League players.”
Of the players on the Padres current active roster, seven were originally signed by San Diego and made their way to the Majors through San Antonio. The list includes Anthony Bass, Josh Spence, Nick Hundley, Chase Headley, Andy Parrino, Blake Tekotte and Will Venable.