Braves to Honor John Smoltz

The Atlanta Braves will pay tribute to former pitcher John Smoltz on Friday, June 8 by inducting him into the Braves Hall of Fame and retiring his uniform number.  The induction will take place at a special luncheon and the uniform number retirement will occur in a pregame ceremony that night before the Braves take on the Toronto Blue Jays.

“John has contributed so much to Atlanta Braves history,” said Atlanta Braves President John Schuerholz.  “Inducting him into our Hall of Fame and making sure no one else will ever wear his number 29, are the most meaningful and significant ways we can honor John.”

Smoltz’ number 29 will be the ninth Braves uniform number to be retired, joining Hank Aaron (44), Eddie Mathews (41), Dale Murphy (3), Phil Niekro (35), Warren Spahn (21) and Greg Maddux (31), Tom Glavine (47) and Bobby Cox (6).  The Braves also retired the number 42 along with all Major League Baseball teams to honor Jackie Robinson.

Smoltz, who is currently a broadcaster for MLB Network and TBS, spent 20 seasons in a Braves uniform. He was originally drafted by the Detroit Tigers in 1985 and was traded to the Braves for Doyle Alexander on August 12, 1987. Smoltz split his final Major League season between Boston and St. Louis in 2009.

He is the only pitcher in Major League history with at least 200 wins and 150 saves, and has the most strikeouts in postseason history with 199.  The recipient of the 2005 Lou Gehrig Memorial Award, the 2005 Roberto Clemente Award and the 2007 Branch Rickey Award, Smoltz also owns the second-most wins in postseason history with 15. In 466 starts for the Braves, Smoltz compiled a 210-147 record with a 3.26 ERA. Smoltz also notched 154 saves, including a National League-leading and franchise-record 55 in 2002.

Smoltz won the National League Cy Young Award in 1996 and was named an All-Star eight times. In 1992 he was named the NLCS MVP after going 2-0 with 2.66 ERA in the Braves’ National League Championship win over the Pittsburgh Pirates.

He will join Hank Aaron, Bill Bartholomay, Lew Burdette, Skip Caray, Bobby Cox, Del Crandall, Ralph Garr, Tom Glavine, Tommy Holmes, Ernie Johnson, David Justice, Herman Long, Bill Lucas, Greg Maddux, Eddie Mathews, Dale Murphy, Kid Nichols, Phil Niekro, John Sain, Paul Snyder, Warren Spahn, Ted Turner, and Pete Van Wieren in the Braves Hall of Fame.

Tickets are available for the June 8 game at, the Braves ticket office at Turner Field, by calling Ticketmaster at 1-800-745-3000, or at any Ticketmaster outlet.

The Hall of Fame luncheon will be held at the Omni Hotel adjacent to the CNN Center.  For more information regarding tickets fans can call 404-614-2310.