D-backs Dedicate Justin Upton Field

PHOENIX — The Arizona Diamondbacks today dedicated Justin Upton Field, the 31st “Diamonds Back” Field, presented by APS. The completion of the project brings the combined charitable contributions of the Arizona Diamondbacks Foundation and the D-backs’ organization to more than $30 million since their inception in 1998.

“We are so proud of Justin Upton and pleased that he’s chosen to give back to the community in this fashion, following in the footsteps of so many of our players,” said D-backs’ Managing General Partner Ken Kendrick. “We are truly humbled to surpass the $30 million mark in giving back to this great community and we look forward to contributing more and more each year.”

Kendrick was among several key D-backs and City officials on hand at the dedication ceremony, including Upton, D-backs President & CEO Derrick Hall, Phoenix Mayor Greg Stanton, City of Phoenix Parks Board Chairperson Delia Ortega Nowakowski, Arizona Public Service Company Chairman & Chief Executive Officer Don Brandt, D-backs Manager Kirk Gibson and D-backs radio broadcaster Jeff Munn, who emceed the dedication ceremony.

“Justin Upton is an All-Star on the field and in the community. He represents the class the Diamondbacks display throughout their organization,” said Brandt. “The Diamondbacks know that success requires giving back to the community. APS shares these values, which is why we have enjoyed a strong partnership with them for 15 years.”

Justin Upton Field is located at University Park, 1002 W. Van Buren St. in Phoenix.

Since 2000, the Arizona Diamondbacks Foundation has built or refurbished 31 baseball fields that have cost more than $6 million. With the aid of APS, local businesses and monetary donations from individual players, the program has allowed children from across the state to play baseball and softball at quality facilities. The fields generally feature new lights, an electronic scoreboard, new fencing and backstops, new irrigation and new grass and dirt.

2011 dedications

Dan Haren Field (Scottsdale)

2009 dedications:

Eric Byrnes Field (Phoenix)

2008 dedications

D-votion Field (Goodyear)

Doug Davis Field (Camp Verde)

2007 dedications:

Brandon Webb Field (Phoenix)

Chad Tracy Field (Phoenix)

Rich Dozer Field (Phoenix)

Partners Field (Phoenix)

2006 dedications:

Mark Grace Thunderbolt Field (Glendale)

Matt Williams Family Field (Show Low)

Craig Counsell Field (Buckeye)

2005 dedications:

Luis Gonzalez Field (Tempe)

Shawn Green Field (Peoria)

Troy Glaus Field (Casa Grande)

2004 dedications:

Danny Bautista Field (Phoenix)

Shea Hillenbrand Field (Chandler)

Elmer Dessens Field (Tucson)

2003 dedications:

Matt Mantei Field (Tempe)

Mark Grace Field (Flagstaff)

Miguel Batista Field (Sacaton)

Jerry Colangelo Field (South Phoenix)

2002 dedications:

Todd Stottlemyre Field (Guadalupe)

Armando Reynoso Field (Yuma)

Brian Anderson Field (Glendale)

Steve Finley Field (Phoenix)

Curt Schilling Field (Phoenix)

2001 dedications:

Randy Johnson Field (Phoenix)

O’Callaghan Field (Phoenix)

2000 dedications:

Jay Bell Field (Phoenix)

Matt Williams Field (Phoenix)