Dan Otero Voted 2012 Harry S. Jordan Award Winner

SCOTTSDALE, AZ --Right-handed pitcher Dan Otero was elected the 2012 Harry S. Jordan Award winner in a vote by his teammates, coaches and training staff earlier this morning.  

            The Harry S. Jordan Award, which is named in honor of a former longtime minor league trainer for the club, is given in recognition of the player in his first big league camp whose performance and dedication in Spring Training best exemplifies the San Francisco Giants spirit.

            Otero, 27, was added to the Giants' 40-man roster over the winter and has posted a 0.90 ERA (1er, 10.0ip) over nine relief appearances this spring. He’s tied with Chicago’s (NL) Rafael Dolis and Kansas City’s Greg Holland for the Cactus League lead with three saves. The 6-foot-3, 214-pound right-hander tossed 2.0-scoreless innings last night at San Diego and has been unscored in each of his last six spring outings.

            Otero was selected by the Giants in the 21st round of the 2007 First-Year Player Draft. In five minor league seasons, he’s compiled a 10-8 record with a 1.90 ERA (45er, 213.1ip) and 86 saves in 188 relief appearances.

The following players have won the Harry Jordan award:

            1988    Joe Kmak

                        Francisco Melendez

            1989    James Steel

            1990    Eric Gunderson

            1991    Mark Leonard

            1992    John Patterson

            1993    Greg Brummett

            1994    J.R. Phillips      

            1995    Joe Rosselli

            1996    Marvin Benard

            1997    Dante Powell

            1998    Russ Ortiz

            1999    Damon Minor

            2000    Ben Weber

            2001    Pedro Feliz

            2002    Felix Escalona

            2003    Jason Ellison

            2004    Brian Dallimore

            2005    Scott Munter

            2006    Derin McMains

            2007    Tim Lincecum

            2008    Brian Bocock

            2009    Joe Martinez

            2010    Darren Ford

            2011    Brandon Belt

            2012    Dan Otero