MLB Network to air Gloops Japan

MLB Network will televise Gloops Japan Opening Series 2012, Major League Baseball’s season-opening series, on March 28 and 29.  The two-game set will be played between the Oakland Athletics and Seattle Mariners at the Tokyo Dome.

MLB Network will televise both contests on tape delay, with the first game airing on Wednesday, March 28 at 9:00 a.m. ET/6:00 a.m. PT and the second game on Thursday, March 29 at 9:00 a.m. ET/6:00 a.m. PT. In addition, each game will re-air the same day at 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT.  MLB Network will televise ROOT Sports’ feed of both games, which will be available on MLB Network in the Athletics’ home television territory.  The games will be blacked out on MLB Network in the Mariners’ home television territory.

Gloops Japan Opening Series 2012 will mark the fourth time Major League Baseball will open its season in Tokyo, Japan and the first time since the Boston Red Sox and the Oakland Athletics played at the Tokyo Dome in 2008.

MLB Network is the ultimate television destination for baseball fans, featuring the Emmy Award-winning MLB Tonight, live games, original programming, highlights, and insights and analysis from the best in the business, including Bob Costas, Peter Gammons, Al Leiter and Harold Reynolds. MLB Network debuted on January 1, 2009 as the largest launch in cable television history and is currently distributed in more than 68 million cable, telco TV and satellite homes throughout the U.S. and Puerto Rico. For more information and to find MLB Network in your area, go to www.mlbnetwork.com.